Daily Archives: March 7, 2009

Stodge on the Go! De Lessio

On a chilly day in ol’ S.F. a nice warm filling meal is usually on the agenda. Today I had a mid-afternoon meeting and I thought. Why not? It’s a block away from my meeting and I have not been there in a while. I was rewarded. De Lessio is a caterer/bakery on Market Street that expanded to a cafe with salad & hot food bars. Today I stodged up good. Mac & cheese, sweet potatoes, carrots, and chicken enchiladas with a little braised red cabbage on the side.

 

Hot Food Bar with Mac & Cheese

Hot Food Bar with Mac & Cheese

Needless to say I had to use restraint to skip the roast chicken, meat loaf, broc and the whole salad bar of about 20 offerings. De Lessio is promoting their well prepared food these days as coming from the best local food sources, mostly in Marin County. These growers are often organic or free range type farms, ranches and dairies. I have always liked De Lessio but today seemed especially delicious. Their chicken enchiladas were not smothered in goopy cheese but well spiced to beat half the Mexican restaurants in town. The mac and cheese was done to make any american proud. I just wish I could get by on about half the food I pile on the plate. You pay by the pound there and stodge ain’t light fare. 

 

Numerous people were there for late lunch and many were using ToGo cartons. As he often does the owner came by  to check if everything was okay. I complimented the enchiladas. Mom would too.

If I remember correctly De Lessio also makes a good Cubana sandwich and the beautiful desserts are a whole 12 page article of praise in the Sunday New York Times. 

I have a meeting near there again in two weeks. I’ll make a note to breakfast lightly and have lunch at De Lessio.